Plenary Speakers

David Harame

was with IBM from 1984 to 2014 were he worked on SiGe HBT technology, RFCMOS, and Design Enablement. He is best known for taking SiGe from a research topic to manufacturing. In 2005 he was awarded the IEEE Daniel E Noble Award “For the development of Manufacturable Silicon Germanium, HBT Bipolar and BiCMOS technologies.” He joined Globalfoundries in 2014 as the CTO for RF Development and Enablement. He is now on assignment in the GF Dresden Germany fab developing 12FDX and 22FDX RF/mmWave FDSOI technology.

David is a GF Fellow and an IEEE Fellow.

Jan M. Rabaey

Jan holds the Donald O. Pederson Distinguished Professorship at the University of California at Berkeley. He is a founding director of the Berkeley Wireless Research Center (BWRC) and the Berkeley Ubiquitous SwarmLab, and has been the the Electrical Engineering Division Chair at Berkeley twice.

Prof. Rabaey has made high-impact contributions to a number of fields, including advanced wireless systems, low power integrated circuits, sensor networks, and ubiquitous computing. His current interests include the conception of the next-generation integrated wireless systems over a broad range of applications, as well as exploring the interaction between the cyber and the biological world.

He is the recipient of major awards, amongst which the IEEE Mac Van Valkenburg Award, the European Design Automation Association (EDAA) Lifetime Achievement award, and the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award. He is an IEEE Fellow, a member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Sciences and Arts of Belgium, and has received honoray doctorates from Lund (Sweden), Antwerp (Belgium) and Tampere (Finland). He has been involved in a broad variety of start-up ventures.

Gurtej Sandhu

is Senior Fellow and Director at Micron Technology. In his current role, he is responsible for Micron’s end-to-end (Si-to-Package) R&D technology roadmaps. The scope includes driving cross-functional alignment across various departments, managing engineering groups to resource and execute on critical technology projects, as well as managing interactions with research partners and consortia around the world.

At Micron, Dr. Sandhu has held a number of engineering and management roles and has been actively involved with a broad range of process technologies for IC processing. He has also pioneered a number of process technologies currently employed in mainstream semiconductor chip manufacturing.

Dr. Sandhu received a degree in electrical engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi, and a Ph.D. in physics at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, in 1990.

He holds several hundred U.S. patents and is an IEEE Fellow.